December 2, 2014

Dec 2

The Lonesome Dove Tetralogy (Lonesome Dove — Streets of Laredo — Dead Man’s Walk — Comanche Moon)

Larry McMurtry


Bid Online Share: 

SOLD: $5,000

Later, “Collector’s edition,” each signed and inscribed on the colophon. Streets of Laredo: “ironically the first word of the Lonesome Dove books was a screenplay, called Streets of Laredo. James Stewart and henry Fonda came round. John Wayne never did.” Dead Man’s Walk: “This produced one of the hardest movie-shoots I have ever been on.” Comanche Moon: “LD [Lonesome Dove] & its sequels were all about my effort to understand the cowboy ethic.” Lonesome Dove: “Lone Dove was an attempt to understand my father. In the main it failed.” Lonesome Dove won the Pulitzer Prize in 1985. As McMurtry points out, it was originally intended as a screenplay for a movie (never made) starring Wayne, Stewart and Fonda. When the movie project collapsed McMurtry transformed it into a novel. The book—and its sequels—made it to the small screen with the successful Lonesome Dove mini-series starring Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones.

McMURTRY, Larry (b. 1936). Streets of Laredo. Dead Man’s Walk. Comanche Moon. Lonesome Dove. Norwalk, Connecticut: The Easton Press, 2013. 4 volumes, 8°. Brown morocco, gilt, all edges gilt.



© Diana Ossana

Larry McMurtry is the author of more than thirty novels, including The Last Picture Show, Terms of Endearment, Folly and Glory, and Lonesome Dove, winner of the 1986 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. His nonfiction works include a biography of Crazy Horse, Walter Benjamin at the Dairy Queen, Paradise, and Sacagawea’s Nickname: Essays on the American West. His latest novel, The Last Kind Words Saloon, is forthcoming from Liveright.